Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines

Staff Favorites

If you’re going to have Robert Parker or Stephen Tanzer over for dinner, selecting a wine they’ve rated highly will be a nice choice. However, when you’re buying wines for yourself, we’d love to see you find wines that match up your unique palate and pocketbook. We have a large staff of friendly and knowledgeable wine professionals that taste hundreds of wines each week. They can put you in touch with bottles that you are likely to love, often at a much lower cost than the highly-rated gems that often see a run-up in price and frequent availability issues. Like any great group of opinionated professionals, our staff has varied tastes themselves. Often our customers will find a particular staff member with a style that corresponds to their own. That concept works extremely well in our retail stores, and this section is our effort to bring you the same online. Don’t get us wrong, we love the highly rated wines from the press and will continue to offer them, but we think you’re missing out if you’re not augmenting those selections with picks from our excellent staff. Here are their favorites. (Click on a name to see their other selections - or to drop them a line.) Cheers!

Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 next >>
2016 Julien Schaal Kastleberg Grand Cru Riesling Alsace
Reviwer Picture By: Morgan Laurie | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
This is delicious, dry, Grand Cru Riesling for $20. Notes of crisp Fuji apple, chamomile and wet stone with a slightly rounder mouthfeel and toned down acidity make this accessible and easy drinking. This wine has great length and a ton of elegance. A definite must for lovers of Riesling.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 95

Bunnahabhain 14 Year Old PX Sherry Finish Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Anthony Russo | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
A great Scotch to try for old Cognac/Armagnac and cigar lovers. This is one that makes you say (aloud) "Holy cow!" Then instantly go back for more nosing because there is just so much going on. The PX influence is there, but not too overwhelming, like a home made, sea-salted chocolate covered caramel with a touch of raisin-y finish. Absolutely wonderful, great depth, and so interesting for a price that is hard to argue.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Huët "Le Haut-Lieu" Vouvray Demi-Sec
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Bruno | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
I’ve always enjoyed the wines from Domaine Huët. This latest bottling from them proves to be no exception. Aromas of lemon zest, candied peaches, and tangerines play with aromas of stones, wool, sweet florals, and straw. On the palate, ripe stone and orchard fruit flavors are accompanied by stone minerality, straw, meyer lemon, and lemon curd. A lifted acidity gives freshness without taking away from the lovely, weightier texture. It has similar sweetness to a German spätlese Riesling. A great choice with various cheeses, butternut squash soup, or baked ham.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WS 96

2010 Domaine Dugois Vin Jaune Arbois (620ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
This nutty, cheesy, yeasty masterpiece has that ever interesting oxidative edge with tart lemon, roasted nut, and mineral flavors. Underlying yellow fruits and spices give complexity and pleasant nuance to the overall character. This is the best wine that I have tried in the last two weeks, bar none!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2013 Bersano "Mantico" Barbaresco
Reviwer Picture By: Rachel Vogel | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
Our best value Barbaresco is back! At $20 this ruby color wine starts with a perfect blend of fresh fruit and earth aromatics while hints of anise intensify the savory aspect of the wine. A bright acidity meets the medium body and medium tannin structure on the palate. A touch of toasted oak spice keep the wine fragrant with coriander and fennel seeds while the dense red fruit keep the mid palate gently weighted.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 JS 90

2013 Domaine Dugois Savagnin Arbois Blanc (Sous Voile)
Reviwer Picture By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
I am still bowled over from tasting this wine today. An impressive nose of white stone fruits, fino sherry, almonds and rhubarb. An interesting blend of oxidation, laser acidity and underlying, delicate fruit. One of the most pleasurable white wines that I have had in months.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2016 Julien Schaal Rosacker Grand Cru Riesling Alsace
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Bruno | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
A lovely and fun Alsatian Riesling that is a perfect choice for your next dinner party. An initial bouquet of orange blossom and wet stones followed by tangerine zest, mandarin, lime, and green apple aromas. Zippy on the palate, with flavors of lime juice, stone minerality, lemon pith, and meyer lemon. The acidity is high, but what makes this wine so inviting is the inherent freshness, making it a great option as both an aperitif or with food pairing applications. An overall great value!
Top Value!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 95

2014 Domaine des Remizières "Cuvée Emilie" Hermitage
Reviwer Picture By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
Another example of what Syrah should REALLY taste like! Deep, blackberry fruit, hints of chalk and licorice, lush, full and complex. The finish goes on and on and on. Simply put, just a wonderful release from this producer that gives immediate gratification and pleasure.
Price: $54.99 Add To Cart
RP 94 WS 92

2015 Ferraton Père et Fils "Les Grands Muriers" Cornas
Reviwer Picture By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
Wow! What a stunner this is! A nose of wet gravel and dark boysenberries. Very dark (almost black) red fruits on the palate with schist, a touch of cola, and baking spices. It is just absolutely delicious and balanced and well, FUN! This is what Syrah is supposed to be!
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
RP 93 - 95

2015 Trinity Hill "Homage" Syrah Hawke's Bay
Reviwer Picture By: Joe Bruno | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
Easily one of my favorite wines I have tried within the past year. The origins of Homage have their roots in the northern Rhône, with founding Winemaker John Hancock working there during the 1996 harvest. Trinity Hill first planted Syrah vines in 1995 at Gimblett Gravels, with cuttings from Hermitage specifically being planted in 2001. Both the original plantings and subsequent Hermitage vines are used to make Homage. The nose invites you with aromas of perfectly ripe blackberry, plum, and boysenberry. The bouquet is wide ranging, exhibiting spicy black pepper and floral potpourri, to woodsy characteristics, grilled meat, and charcuterie. On the palate, the wine possesses both power and grace. Berry medley, currants, and plum flavors are accompanied by lingering fine tannins. There is a noted herbal and garrigue flavor, with elevated acidity as well. The spicy flavor notes and robust nature of this wine make it suitable with North African cuisine. Think lamb tagine as a possible food pairing. This New Zealand Syrah clearly demonstrates its ability to last another 10-20 years with proper cellaring. An all-around showstopper of a wine
Drink from 2022 to 2022

2014 Tessendey, Fronsac
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
This starts with muted aromas of clay and raspberry in a fresh and clean style. This is a great easy going and gulpable bargain for any Tuesday night.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2014 Chante Cigale Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
The rich and brawny style of Chante Cigale is slightly toned down in the lively 2014 vintage allowing for a bit more up front complexity to emerge even at this early stage. There are undertones of darker fruit to go with the brighter flavors of red fruits, licorice, nori, Asian spice and roasted herb. There is fantastic energy in this approachable and value priced CNP from a small family producer. Drink tonight or lay a few bottles away.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

2014 Domaine du Vieil Orme Malbec-Cabernet Franc Touraine Rouge
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
Equal parts Malbec and Cabernet Franc and delightfully delicious. The middle is round, dark and juicy from the Malbec but the soaring raspberry aromatics and savory herb and tobacco laced finish screams Cabernet Franc through and through. This is exactly the kind of inexpensive bottle you always want to have handy to pop open on a whim or to match to practically any Tuesday night cuisine. A case purchase for sure.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$9.99

2015 Comartin Cellars "R-Bar-R Ranch" Santa Cruz Mountains Pinot Noir
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
This starts with concentrated aromas of smoky black cherries, ripe plums, roasted herbs and charred oak. The fruity middle is fine and detailed and leads to a long, sweet finish. This is very well made.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 94

2015 Matthiasson Napa Valley White Wine Blend
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
This has flowery aromas of honeysuckle and verbena and a middle of crushed orchard fruit. The finish is refreshing, very complex and hints at mandarin.
Price: $38.95 Add To Cart

2016 Matthiasson "Linda Vista Vineyard" Napa Valley Chardonnay
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
Stone fruit, crunchy golden raisen and crisp apple form the core of this steely and intense wine. The Chablis-like finish is palate cleansing and will have you reaching for another glass.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2015 Precedent "Evangelho Vineyard" Contra Costa County Zinfandel
Reviwer Picture By: Steve Bearden | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
Very bright, clean and juicy with tons of mixed berries and spice in the middle. this is pure, fresh and savory with meaty notes on the long, focused finish. This middleweight wine tastes the way Zin use to taste before the invasion of new oak barrels. Lip smacking, mouthwatering and palate cleansing.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Huët "Le Haut-Lieu" Vouvray Demi-Sec
Reviwer Picture By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
This wine was a total shocker for me. I always prefer the Haut Lieu Sec but, this Demi-Sec is a stunner! Orange marmalade, peach, and the right hint of citrus make this wine elegantly balanced. The slight bit of honey on the finish is not cloying and actually makes it even more interesting. A perfect cellar candidate! It will be interesting to see where this one goes with some years under its belt. At this price, I daresay it is even a good value.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart
WS 96

2015 The Opportunist Shiraz Langhorne Creek South Australia
Reviwer Picture By: Stefanie Juelsgaard | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
This is a different take on Aussie Shiraz than most of our customers are used to as it comes from Langhorne Creek in South Australia. The cooling maritime influence this region possesses give this wine a lighter, slightly more saline/mineral-driven style instead of a deep, rich, supple one. There is still plenty of fruit here to showcase the varietal, but it's presented in a different way than from a region such as the Barossa. If you've been avoiding Shiraz from Oz because you think it's too fat or high in alcohol, or if you just want to taste a good, interesting Shiraz, this wine should be your next buy.
Price: $10.99 Add To Cart
W&S 91

Baron-Fuenté "7" Brut Champagne
Reviwer Picture By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
At first, I found this unique release to be chalky with spiced nuts (on the nose) and saline scents. Once the air hit it, yellow apple and guava came to the forefront and then, the chardonnay citrus definitely took over. Creamy, but, the lemon and spice flavors dominate in the end. To date, the most interesting release that we have had from this venerable producer and that includes the Meunier heavy releases that I love so much. Well worth the wait for us to acquire it!
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2015 Trinity Hill "Homage" Syrah Hawke's Bay
Reviwer Picture By: Stefanie Juelsgaard | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
The top scores across every publication are well deserved given the incredible complexity and quality of this wine. While it is showing a little tight and structured now, it most definitely has the capacity to age beautifully. The smaller yields of 2015 give this wine great concentration and definite black pepper spice at this stage in its life. It is lean and bright and a little grippy, but will open up, show its fruit, soften its tannins and will become an absolutely phenomenal wine in a few years time. The cool New Zealand climate has done its work here and given us a wine with depth and intricacy. One of the stand-outs from Hawke's Bay and any lover of past vintages should jump on this one as well.

2009 Baron-Fuenté "Grand Millesime" Brut Champagne
Reviwer Picture By: Scott Beckerley | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
In contrast to the zesty 2008, this newly released 2009 is essentially lush with (browned) apple butter, yellow fruits and caramel. While lush on the palate, it does have a nice, clean finish with fine acidity, Meyer lemon and nectarines. Another vintage gem from Baron Fuente!
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart

Baron-Fuenté "7" Brut Champagne
Reviwer Picture By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
I must admit that these bubbles puzzled me at first, it was obviously Champagne, I read the label, it came in a Champagne bottle but there was something different. It took me about 10 minutes to figure it out, this wine just has a more vinous complexity to it, and the 7 years on the lees really changed the dynamic of the wine. Yes there were bubbles and it seemed like a regular Champagne on your tongue but the flavors were not so simple. I really liked this wine the more I tried it, the super dryness almost flinty on your palate then slowly the layers of brioche, spice and mineral emerge. The more I tasted it the more it seemed like Chablis with bubbles, so strident, focused and lemony tartness with bits of baking spice complexity, all it needed was the right dish to pair with it. Oysters immediately came to mind but I’m thinking Lobster and butter is what this bubbly needs, the richness of the Lobster and the vibrant focus of the Baron Fuente 7, wow, a perfect match.
Drink from 2018 to 2018
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2016 Julien Schaal Rosacker Grand Cru Riesling Alsace
Reviwer Picture By: Christina Stanley | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
With 95 points from Wine Enthusiast, The Julien Schaal Rosacker Grand Cru is light, crisp, quite dry, and with a brighter perceptible acid than the Kastleberg Grand Cru from the same producer and vintage. The name "Calcaire" comes from the rose strewn vineyard's limestone, calcium rich soil. With a beautiful light golden hue, the wine displays aromas of faint petrol, lemon pith, under ripe green apple, and orange blossom, with a chalky, mineral finish that won't quit.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 95

Bunnahabhain 14 Year Old PX Sherry Finish Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Shaun Green | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image
Wow, just beautiful. Full rich and mouthfilling toffey and caramel coming from the PX barrels - it's an amazingly powerful but smooth expression. The wonderful sweet nature of the PX absorbs the alcohol content so well you'll be amazed.
Top Value!
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

Bunnahabhain 14 Year Old PX Sherry Finish Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
Treat yourself to this rare and tasty treat from Bunnahabain. It spends 11 years in first fill sherry casks, and then gets three years in first fill PX casks creating a sticky, unctuous delight with flavors of raisins, black tea, dates, honey, a touch of nuttiness and just a hint of fire smoke. This is perfect to serve after dinner with dessert, or even as dessert itself and the complexity will keep you delighted down to the end of the bottle.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

Bunnahabhain 14 Year Old PX Sherry Finish Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: David Driscoll | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
Ladies and gentlemen, let me introduce you to the best new whisky I've tried in months and the most exciting release of 2018 thus far: the Bunnahabhain 14 year old Limited Release Pedro Ximenez Finish, bottled at 54.3%. Not only is it going to send sherry bomb addicts into a sugar-induced coma, it's going to have Macallan and Glendronach drinkers scrambling into an all-out bunker war for who can acquire the largest stash. Aged in refill sherry butts, then finished for three years in PX sherry butts (the sweetest sherry of them all), you immediately get a toffee-laden mouthful of dripping wet suppleness, bolstered by the sea salt of the Bunnahabhain brine. Imagine a big salted caramel in whisky form, oozing across your palate and sliding ever slow slowly down your gullet with each sip. Sounds pretty amazing, right? Take into consideration that this is an official distillery release, limited in quantity, immense in quality, and clocking in at a fantastic 108.6 proof, all for a hundred bucks. The question you should be asking yourself now is not whether to buy a bottle, but rather how many? It's awesome, to say the least. I've been sipping on it for five straight days now and I've yet to get tired of it. Staunch Islay fans may lament the lack of heavy peat, but there's just the slighest hint of phenolic smoke on the finish, interlocked with all the dried fruits, sweet syrup, and creamy malt character. They only made 5900 bottles of this for the world and I've already drained two of them, so they're disappearing as fast as I can drink them.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2009 Egrot (formerly Elisabeth Goutorbe) Brut Grand Cru Champagne
Reviwer Picture By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
This is one of the more low-profile super-values in our direct import portfolio. Elisabeth Egrot used to sell under her maiden name, Goutourbe, to a large and dedicated fan base. Her new name hasn’t quite gained the same traction, but her wines are better than ever. This superb vintage offering comes entirely from the Grand Cru village from Ay, from a vintage renowned for the power of its fruit. The richness and depth of the fruit manifest with flavors of gala apple, anjou pear, sweet Meyer lemon, and dried apricots, with equally intense acidity and minerals (no dosage was added creating superb balance.) Incredible for sub-$40 Champagne.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Gift Box - Bunnahabhain 14 Year Old PX Sherry Finish Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Alex Schroeder | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
Treat yourself to this rare and tasty treat from Bunnahabain. It spends 11 years in second fill sherry casks, and then gets three years in first fill PX casks creating a sticky, unctuous delight with flavors of raisins, black tea, dates, honey, a touch of nuttiness and just a hint of fire smoke. This is perfect to serve after dinner with dessert, or even as dessert itself and the complexity will keep you delighted down to the end of the bottle.
Price: $0.00 Add To Cart

Bunnahabhain 14 Year Old PX Sherry Finish Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: David Othenin-Girard | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
I have to be honest, it's been a little while since I've been truly excited by a distillery release of Bunnahabhain. Yes the distillery consistently offers awesome whisky thru their standard line up, but nothing we've gotten in the recent memory has truly moved the needle like this special little whisky. I also have to note that I was a bit skeptical of lovely delicate Bunnah in big sweet PX, but oh god was I wrong. This has such an incredible balance, I struggle to think of another PX finished Scotch that was so well integrated. The nose wafts from the glass immediately I think salt water taffy. Then into crunchy toffee, butterscotch, pecan butter, salted dried plums and even a some chocolatey malt! The palate is absolutely bonkers. Straight up chocolate covered raisins. The texture is perfect, full, mouth coating, but not cloying. That salty Bunnah malt peaking out through the rich fruit, coco and honey crisps. The finish is long and lifted with that one crucial element reigning over all others, BALANCE! They must be using some pretty high quality sherry here. An absolute dream to drink. No wonder this stuff is sold out nearly everywhere else in the world.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

Bunnahabhain 14 Year Old PX Sherry Finish Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Andrew Whiteley | Review Date: 1/16/2018 | Send Email
I didn't know this existed until David brought it to my attention and thankfully he brought it into K&L! This is a limited release from the famed Bunnahabhain distillery. It is a true sherry bomb. Grown up in second fill sherry casks for many years and then transferred for 3 additional years into first fill PX casks for a sticky, sweet, toffee, coffee, nutty, figgy, beautifully sherried whisky. All done at a full cask strength of 54.3% and sliding in under the $100 mark. What's not to love? The supple texture and boundless richness of this will knock your socks off.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2011 Chateau Montelena "Estate" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Reviwer Picture By: James Knight | Review Date: 1/15/2018 | Send Email
2011, rain, boo, right? Nope, think again on this one: Montelena is so old school about their picking regime, they picked before the drenching rains of the later fall of 2011. The rest of the year was cool, true, but basically the year that Napa became Bordeaux-for-a-season. This wine, tasted January 2018, initially shows an aroma that could be called herbal, maybe mineral, but then the red fruit flavor shows up, intense and alluring. It's the vintage, out of a lineup, I kept thinking about again.

2010 Chateau Montelena "Estate" Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon (1.5L)
Reviwer Picture By: James Knight | Review Date: 1/15/2018 | Send Email
The 2010 vintage may not have been as talked up as the more forward 2007, but this wine comes on like a more subdued version of 2007: a savory, sage aroma with a dusty, gravelly background opens up to a medley of brown baking spices and sweet fruit, finally, revealing itself on the palate. Clean, old school Cab! Tasted from 1.5L, January, 2018.

2016 Julien Schaal Kastleberg Grand Cru Riesling Alsace
Reviwer Picture By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 1/15/2018 | Send Email
This wine has a lot to offer for lovers of dry Riesling. There is a beautiful subtle nose. In the mouth are bright and juicy light fruit flavors with a layer of mineral notes. A nice dry finish helps wrap up this package.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 95

2016 Julien Schaal Rosacker Grand Cru Riesling Alsace
Reviwer Picture By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 1/15/2018 | Send Email
This is for people who are looking for a excellent dry Riesling. There are beautiful delicate aromas that are subtle and inviting. In the mouth it is pure with nice light fruit, a hint of minerals and a dry finish that gives this wine a nice balance.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 95

2015 Trinity Hill "Homage" Syrah Hawke's Bay
Reviwer Picture By: Ryan Moses | Review Date: 1/15/2018 | Send Email
The past two vintages of this remarkable Syrah sold out in a matter of days and it's very easy to see why. On the palate, this is dead ringer for a refined, cool, and vibrant Northern Rhone collectible - a young and extremely promising bottling. Perhaps a bit more lift and tension than the past few vintages, it has all the structure and depth to age for a few decades but will turn heads even now with a good decant. If you're looking for finesse in Syrah, or value in collectible, ageworthy reds, this is a bottling that needs to be on your radar.

2015 Baccinetti "La Saporoia" Rosso di Montalcino
Reviwer Picture By: John Downing | Review Date: 1/15/2018 | Send Email
Baccinetti Rosso di Montalcino is very likely to be one of our best values from Tuscany this year. It far exceeds its price and delivers a level of complexity and depth of fruit we don't normally find at $15. Thanks to the 2015 vintage, this wine has all of its usual irresistible features of spiced red fruits, sandalwood and forest floor yet with greater weight and concentration on the palate. It's a real sleeper pick from one of our favorite Montalcino families.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart

2014 Cantele Salice Salentino Riserva
Reviwer Picture By: John Downing | Review Date: 1/15/2018 | Send Email
This has been a consistent hit with our customers and Cantele continues to produce high quality wine at very modest price points. Their latest Salice offers up their trademark rich baked red and black fruit with sweet tannins and bright acidity that together make this a wonderful table red. Cantele sets the bar high which is why we sell so much of this wine every vintage.
Price: $8.99 Add To Cart

2013 Bersano "Mantico" Barbaresco
Reviwer Picture By: John Downing | Review Date: 1/15/2018 | Send Email
The 2013 Bersano Barbaresco represents outstanding value with the convergence of a great vintage and an exceptional price. This authentic Nebbiolo highlights classic characteristics of earthy red fruits, licorice, dried florals and a hint of leather. It's light on its feet yet has deceptive tannins and acidity that bring it together. It's perfect for meats, cheeses and pasta dishes.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
WE 91 JS 90

Daniel Bouju Tres Vieux "Brut de Fut" Premier Cru de Cognac Grand Champagne Cognac 750ml
Reviwer Picture By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 1/15/2018 | Send Email
This Cognac has a deep dark color that reflects the extended aging. Delicate aromas lead to a Cognac that is complex and full bodied with concentrated dried fruit flavors that are not sweet but lively and tasty. There is a lot going on here. This is one to sit down with, sip and think about.
Price: $179.99 Add To Cart

Daniel Bouju "Royal" Brut De Fut Grand Champagne Cognac (750ml)
Reviwer Picture By: Jeffrey Jones | Review Date: 1/15/2018 | Send Email
I tasted this Cognac once straight out of the bottle and once with a splash of water. I enjoyed it most with a little water. There are soft and delicate aromas with a hint of sweetness. In the mouth it is round and rich but not heavy, with hints of dried fruit flavors that are delicious, on the dry side and inviting. This is for those looking for a classic Cognac but one without out too much sweetness.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2016 OENO Dry Creek Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Reviwer Picture By: Sharon Kelly | Review Date: 1/15/2018 | Send Email
Ah... fresh, classic Cabernet Sauvignon! The fruit is from a single vineyard of 40 year old vines and aging is in neutral French oak barrels. The aromas of flowers, herbs and spice will pull you in and the purity of fruit, structure, balance and refined personality will hook you. This is a genuine wine.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2013 Domaine Dugois Trousseau "En Grevellière" Arbois Rouge
Reviwer Picture By: John Majeski | Review Date: 1/15/2018 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
As I grow more august my tastes are often inclined to distinctive wines of character and finesse, so it is only natural that the delightful wines of the Jura AOC would find an audience with my palate. This Trousseau is a lovely red wine with immense personality that will captivate those who relish Morello cherry and wild strawberry fruit with a touch of earth and game on the rich, expressive finish. Great with a dish of grilled sausages and roasted red potatoes.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine Dugois Ploussard Arbois Rouge
Reviwer Picture By: John Majeski | Review Date: 1/15/2018 | Send Email
The Domaine Dugois Ploussard is a true charmer of a wine, pretty and ruby-hued with delicately spicy aromas and flavors of cherries and red plums. Delicious with a plate of charcuterie and Morbier cheese.
Price: $17.99 Add To Cart

2013 Domaine Dugois Savagnin Arbois Blanc (Sous Voile)
Reviwer Picture By: John Majeski | Review Date: 1/15/2018 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
The Savagnin grape undoubtedly reaches its apotheosis in the beautiful Jura region of Arbois, and this enthralling version exhibits lively oxidative aromas and provocative flavors of green walnut, hazelnut, stone fruit and minerals, imbued with a spine of crisp acidity. Pair tonight with a spicy chicken curry or Moroccan dish for an exotic, soul-satisfying dinner.
Top Value!
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
WE 92

2014 Eric Kent "Sascha Marie" Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir
Reviwer Picture By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 1/15/2018 | Send Email
If you are a fan of Russian River Pinot Noir, this little wine from Eric Kent is well worth your while. With fruit coming from both Russian River and Petaluma Gap, the wine is on the fuller-bodied side of Pinot, with rich, dark fruit and velvety tannins. Although I'm not typically a fan of bigger-style Pinot Noirs, this is a definite exception. The balance and finesse of the wine is truly outstanding. While it is drinking very well now, it does certainly have the bones to age for a few more years as well.

2010 Domaine Dugois Vin Jaune Arbois (620ml)
Reviwer Picture By: John Majeski | Review Date: 1/15/2018 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Half image
This unique wine reveals its seductive nature over time, having spent over six years in old barriques under a thin layer of yeast, or voile, a maturing regimen similar to sherry, which allows for generous oxidation, slow evaporation and the development of intense, complex flavors of ginger, walnut, curry powder and apricot, with a salty tang. Often served with the local Comté cheese, this famous “yellow wine” will also pair well with mushroom risottos. And the real beauty of a Vin Jaune? It can age for many decades, if desired.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

San Venanzio Prosecco Valdobbiadene Superiore Brut
Reviwer Picture By: Greg St. Clair | Review Date: 1/15/2018 | Send Email
Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Full image Glass Empty image
I was stunned by the superlative quality in this vintage of San Venanzio: 2016 has been just an exceptional vintage across Italy and most of Europe and it didn’t skip Valdobbiadene. The fruit in the nose of this wine is so pure, clean and vibrant it outgrows the appellation, the wine has so much minerality, clean focus yet still retains that Prosecco elegance and balance. Sensational finish!
Drink from 2016 to 2016
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

2016 Ledge "G2 Vineyard" Willow Creek District Grenache Blanc
Reviwer Picture By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 1/15/2018 | Send Email
This Grenache Blanc is a great example of a white wine which not only has beautiful aromatics, but great complexity and depth on the palate. The heady, floral aromas of this lovely wine give way to soft orchard fruits such as pear and white peach on the palate. It's kept lively by a finish of crisp citrus-loaded acidity. The whole flows very seamlessly together, keeping a coherent line of elegance from start to finish.
Price: $22.99 Add To Cart

2014 Comartin Cellars "Tierra Alta Vineyard" Grenache Santa Ynez
Reviwer Picture By: Heather Vander Wall | Review Date: 1/15/2018 | Send Email
Grenache is not often featured in the US, and even in France it is typically found in a blend, yet this grape can be one of the most elegant and expressive wines I've ever encountered. Our friends at Comartin have come out with just such a bottling of Grenache! This is a lighter bodied wine, with lovely red plum and violet notes. It has a Pinot-like quality with smooth, fine tannin and aromatically-driven red fruit. I'd be hard-pressed to find a wine that I'd rather open and drink on almost any occasion.
Price: $29.99 Add To Cart
WE 91

Page: 1 2 3 next >>